Home / Features / Awards and Festivals / 64th National film Awards

64th National film Awards

The results of the 64th National Film Awards are just out. Closer to home, Rajumurugan’s “Joker” has won the award for best Tamil film. This film which has Guru Somasundaram in the lead is a poignant tale, set in an obscure village down south, about a half-demented man’s earnest desire to build a lavatory for his newly-wedded wife and his eccentric struggles against the corrupt system. This movie has also bagged another award for Sundharayyar for best playback singer. Cinematographer S. Thirunaavukarasu popularly known as Thiru has bagged the best cinematography award for the film “24”. This film, directed by Vikram K Kumar in which Surya played the lead has also won the award for best production design. And Vairamuthu has done it again for the 7th time, winning the best lyricist award for his mesmerizing words in the song “Entha Pakkam” for the film Dharmadurai. The music of this song was composed by Vairamuthu’s erstwhile friend Illayaraja’s son, Yuvan Shankar Raja. Our very own G. Dhananjayan, a famous producer and chronicler of Tamil cinema has won the award for best film critic. “His thought provoking essays raise relevant issues affecting the movie watcher as well as the filmmaker and suggests practical solutions” reads his citation.

Malayalam cinema has also won big this time, with “Maheshinte Prathikaaramwritten by syam Pushkaran winning the award for best Original screenplay and best Malayalam film. A substantial part of the acting honours were bagged by Malayalam cinema with Adish Praveen winning the award for best child artist and Surabhi, winning the award for best actress for her brilliant portrayal of a struggling mother. And Mohanlal has won again, this time a special jury award for Munthirivallikal Thalirkkumbol, Janatha Garrage and Pullimurugan. Popular stunt Choreographer Peter Hein Has also won an award for for his breathtaking stunts for the film Pulimurugan.

Pelli Choopulu of Telugu cinema won the award for best Telugu film and Best Dialogues for director Tharun Bhascker. Raju Sundaram has finally won his first national award for the film Janatha Garage.

The best music direction and background score honors went to Bapu Padmanabha for the Kannada film “Allama”. Rajesh Mapuskar has won the award for best director for the acclaimed Marathi film “Ventilator”. This critically acclaimed film has also won the award for best editing.

Akshay Kumar has won the best actor award for “Rustom” for portraying a “character caught in personal and social turmoil”, according to his citation. Marathi film “Kasaav” wins the award for best feature film.

Avinash Moyidi

About Editor

Check Also

50th International Film Festival Of India

IFFI Steering Committee Members arranges a welcome meet to invite the Tamil Film fraternity for …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

7 − six =