Home / Features / And the Oscar goes to…

And the Oscar goes to…

It was neither, “The Revenant” nor “Spotlight” which took home the most number of Oscars at the 2016 Academy awards ceremony. George Miller’s “Mad Max: Fury Road”, the post-apocalyptic action epic starring Charlize Theron as Furiosa and Tom Hardy in the titular role as Max, went home with a total number of six Oscars, predominantly in the technical categories including best editing, sound mixing, sound editing, costume design, production design and makeup.

The investigative reporting drama “Spotlight” directed by Tom McCarthy won the coveted best picture Oscar. This arresting account of the Boston Globe’s Pulitzer prize-winning investigation into the shocking scandals of the Catholic Church also took home the best original screenplay statute.

Leonardo dicaprio took home the best actor Oscar for his terrific and raw portrayal of the popular American explorer, Hugh Glass in the film, “The Revenant”. Mr.Dicaprio promptly thanked Martin Scorsese, “for teaching him so much about the cinematic art form”. Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu won the best director Oscar again for “The Revenant”. He became the third director in oscar history to win the best director award for two consecutive years, following the footsteps of John Ford and Joseph l. Maniekwiez. Inarritu’s frequent collaborator Emmanuel Lubezki became the only cinematographer in history to have won the Oscar for best cinematography for three consecutive years. He had previously won for “Birdman” and “Gravity”.  Roger Deakins walked home empty handed again, having been nominated thirteen times previously for best cinematography. He holds the record for the highest nominations in the category.

The best actress Oscar went to Brie Larson for the film “Room”. A relatively unknown Mark Rylance won the best supporting actor Oscar for his portrayal of a captive KGB spy in Steven Spielberg’s cold war drama, “Bridge Of Spies”. Swedish actress Alicia Vikander won the Oscar for best supporting actress for “The Danish Girl”

It was heart-warming to finally witness the eighty seven year old Italian maestro Ennio Morricone win the Oscar for best musical score for Quentin Tarantino’s “The Hateful Eight”. Ennio Morricone had previously scored music for hundreds of iconic films, including films such as “The Battle Of Algiers”, “The Days of Heaven”, “Cinema Paradiso” and “The Untouchables”.

The Auschwitz Concentration camp drama “Son Of Saul” won the award for best foreign language film. This Hungarian drama directed by Laszlo Nemes had already won its share of accolades including the Grand Prix at Cannes in 2015.

The Academy Awards took place on February 28th at The Dolby Theatre in Hollywood, Los Angeles.

– Avinash Moyidi

About Editor

Check Also


The first of its kind Cinematography Training Program which had Lectures, Demos and hands-on training (in …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

nineteen − 14 =